The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) is an examination conducted by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examination. Students must pick six subjects from three Groups. Group 1 includes compulsory subjects. Students can pick any 2 subjects out of 4 options from Group 2 and students can only pick one subject out of 11from Group 3. The results of ICSE are calculated from the best five of six with English marks being compulsory. The ICSE board is more comprehensive, giving all fields with equal importance. ICSE provides results using marks.  

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) offers English language curriculum to students for them to get prepared for the International Baccalaureate  and A-Levels. Developed by the University of Cambridge International Examinations, it is also recognized as an equivalent to the GCSE and other international curricula. For the students in the curriculum, the ages are from year 10, which is Grade 9, and the test is taken at the end of Grade 10.

The core subjects under the IGCSE are:

  • First Language
  • Second Language
  • Mathematics
  • One or more Sciences subjects.

The subjects are categorized into the following groups:

  • Languages
  • Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Creative, Technical, and Vocational.

The students can choose various additional courses from Creative Arts to Social Sciences.

IGCSE is more practical and application-based. It provides students with an opportunity to select courses according to their interest in the subjects. The courses also provide them with an opportunity to mix these subjects with components of fine arts, visual arts, theatre, technical drawing, music, film making, community service, etc. The syllabus emphasizes on developing critical thinking, analytical skills, communication skills, investigative abilities, problem-solving techniques, teamwork, independent research and other qualities valued by all international universities. IGCSE merits students based on a three-tier grading system— Distinction, Merit, and Pass.

Leave a Reply